Skip to content

What does it mean to be whimsical?

January 13, 2011

Last June we wrote about design words we don’t like. What about words we do like? For instance: WHIMSICAL. I love that word. I was a little disillusioned the other day when I googled “whimsical light fixture” and got such sweet gems as:

Sisal Lighting - Original Monkey Chandelier

 

Bellacor - Chelsea Five-Light Chandelier

Beauty of Lighting - Astronaut Light

What’s that? You don’t believe that you can find those items by googling “whimsical light fixture”? Try it yourself!  I’ll let you click around the results while I go make a sandwich.

Ok, I’m back. See?!?! Isn’t it unbelievable?

I don’t really think of those examples as whimsical. I think of them as tacky. Let’s break down what my good friend Merriam-Webster says about these words:

Whimsical:

1: full of, actuated by, or exhibiting whims (see whim)

2a: resulting from or characterized by whim or caprice; especially: lightly fanciful b: subject to erratic behavior or unpredictable change

Tacky:

1 a: characterized by lack of good breeding b: shabby, seedy

2 : not having or exhibiting good taste: as a: marked by lack of style: dowdy b: marked by cheap showiness: gaudy

It appears that whimsical means “unexpected” while tacky means “lacking style”. Hmm…it appears those light fixtures I found are indeed  whimsical as it is certainly unexpected to see monkeys holding candle sticks; however, they are also tacky because they are clearly lacking style. I suppose I will have to revise my search next time…

I shouldn’t really be this bitter. After all, I have been known to wear plenty of tacking things in my day.

Yes, that's a silver shirt. You know you're jealous!

With all this venting, I must leave on a positive note. When I think of whimsical, I think of things like these:

Anthologie Quartett - Coffee Light

Jake Phipps - Jeeves & Wooster

Si Studio - Origami's Hunter

If you’ve you stumbled upon anything whimsical–or tacky–feel free to share below!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

